HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Selling your work

#1 2006-03-13 05:38:50

Moni

Selling your work

I am fairly new to paper mache and to area where I live (Boise, Idaho, USA). I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for selling paper mache finished work. I have thought about craft fairs. Is anyone represented in a gallery? I am not sure if galleries think of paper mache as "real art" Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated. If I don't either sell or give away some peces I may have to rent a larger apartment.    smile

My cat is my best friend!

#2 2006-03-13 23:11:49

heronheart

Re: Selling your work

I actually had the shock of my life when I sold a $50 piece of my website www.oakfire.com this morning.

#3 2006-03-14 01:02:48

Vinca

Wow - great masks!  I was wondering the same thing about selling, Moni.  I'm a newbie, too, but I can feel the possibilities.  I'm working on a series of faceless cats from very small to very large and if I live long enough to get them done, I might try to get them into a local gallery.  I currently sell antiques and collectibles in a group shop and I thought I might try making a modern version of the old German Halloween candy containers to sell in that venue.

Don't blame me - I didn't vote for him.

#4 2006-03-14 13:10:41

Mischief
Website

I've been selling my work now for quite a few years via, exhibitions, art & craft fairs, galleries, craft shops and private commissions. Some can take quite a large cut usually 40% so you have to work out before hand all your costs. In truth you don't always make back the true hours you put into each piece, but thats something you have to except up front when working in our chosen medium so keep the material costs down where possible.