HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

• Index
  •  » General
  •  » Is linseed oil necessary when making a porcelain finish mix?

Is linseed oil necessary when making a porcelain finish mix?

#1 2006-02-27 22:56:01

Vinca

Is linseed oil necessary when making a porcelain finish mix?

Wow!  What a great site!  I'm a newbie at papier mache and currently working on my second life size cat.  I finished the first one with the toilet paper/linseed oil/glue mixture and was happy with the finish, but I have 2 questions.  First, what's the purpose of the linseed oil?  It created quite a stench in the house and I'm not looking forward to doing that again.  Will a porcelain-like finish happen with just toilet paper, glue and maybe a little wallpaper paste?  Second, I read a post that mentioned sanding.  I had no idea you could sand papier mache.  Are there any guidelines to follow when doing so?  I finish the cats with a latex primer and acrylic paints.  My plan is to make a series of cats, each one slightly larger than the previous one, the final one being HUGE.  Haven't a clue what I'm going to do with them when I'm done, but it's so much fun! lol

Don't blame me - I didn't vote for him.

#2 2006-02-28 10:57:27

DaveyB
Website

Re: Is linseed oil necessary when making a porcelain finish mix?

Hi.
Linseed oil just makes the pulp easier to work and tougher when dry.
How to sand papier mache? Take some sandpaper, rub it against papier mache  tongue
The finish you want will be achieved by using very very fine pulp, gesso, and then sanding.
I'm using nothing but toilet paper at the moment. I've found that the really cheap stuff is the best for a smooth finish. Also, you don't need to waste half your life tearing it, just put it all in a saucepan and boil it. Give it a stir occasionally and that's all. A real time saver! Wallpaper paste and plenty of glue makes it really smooth if you apply it carefully.