HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Newbie Here...

#1 2005-08-15 19:00:10

trixyinaz

Newbie Here...

All I have to say is the art I have seen thus far is amazing.  I am by no means an artist, but would love to be.  You all are so creative.  I'm almost afraid to try my hand at it. 

I am just starting out making paper mache.  I swear it is addicting!  Does anyone have any book recommendations for the beginner?

Also, how do you get your objects so round and smooth - arms, legs, faces, etc.  After your lay down your strips of paper, do you finish it off with a paper paste? 

My first paper mache was a baby face - seriously, a 3 year old could have done better  smile .  I wanted the face flat (but still 3D) as it was going on the lid of a hat box so I cut a circle out of some cardboard and placed stips of paper on it.  Even though I wrapped the paper all around, you can totally see the shape of the cardboard (not a rounded edge like I had hoped). 

Also, how do you build up a nose and make lips?  I really need a good book so any suggestions are helpful.  Thanks!

Trixy

#2 2005-08-15 21:55:05

Paper Rose

Re: Newbie Here...

Welcome Trixy!

I'm rather new too, but I found the tutorials in this site to be very helpful in answering most of my questions.  Looking over old forum questions is another good source. 

I use cardboard or scrunched newspaper attached with masking tape to make my details, then cover with strip mache.  To make a smooth surface, I first make sure I smooth out air bubbles and wrinkles as much as possible when I apply the strips.  Then, when it is dry, you can use sandpaper to even out the ridges if needed.  A few coats of varnish or polyurethane after you've painted, will help protect your creation and help even more with the smooth surface.