HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

• Index
  •  » General
  •  » A newbie query on creating a flower vase

A newbie query on creating a flower vase

#1 2012-10-08 04:13:43

kokopellime

A newbie query on creating a flower vase

I'm relatively new to papier mache (PM), not having worked with the medium since being a kid and that was quite awhile back (disclaimer: I did do a mask a few years back as part of a education project while in grad school).  While searching the net for information and inspiration I came across an artist who used a plastic medicine bottle in making a small vase. This particular piece was a globe about 4.5" tall by 5" wide and the bottle, enclosed in PM, allowed for flowers to be inserted in water.

I thought that I'd try a similar project and could use any advice anyone might be able to share.  Would you create an armature surrounding the bottle, possibly using wadded/taped paper?  Would you build up mounds of pulp?  What would you suggest?  How would you add weight to prevent the vase from tipping over when a flower is placed in it? 

A previous post on the forum may have already addressed this but my search hasn't turned it up yet.  As a "newbie"  I am still exploring the forum but from what I can see, there is a wealth of information and a community of creative, helpful people.  I look forward to the day that I can contribute to others visiting these pages.

Thanx! for any help you can give me on this matter.

Irv a/k/a  "kokopellime"

#2 2012-10-08 09:25:09

dopapier

Re: A newbie query on creating a flower vase

If the waterproof element (bottle etc.) you use has weight, you shouldn't need to add any more.  Otherwise I can suggest two ways to avoid overbalance.
1  Place stone or stones in the container.
2  Create a deeper base and include something heavy enough (stone, metal etc)