HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

• Index
  •  » General
  •  » Mold (as in yucky pink and green spots)

Mold (as in yucky pink and green spots)

#1 2004-03-19 22:04:06

Mold (as in yucky pink and green spots)

Hello.. I'm new to paper mache and have started out using a pulp product from Dick Blick.  One piece I've started on is pretty thick and I used a basket (which I'm going to cover completely) for a base.  I thought I had the piece set up so that air would circulate all the way around the piece, but unfortunately I've discovered a moderate mold problem.  There are pink and green moldy spots on the piece.  I'm wondering if there is still hope for this piece or if I need to toss it and start over??  If I kill off the mold with Lysol or some other product should I risk it and paint over the mold spots, or could it continue to rot from the inside?  I intend to sell this work and I hardly want to sell someone something moldy!  Any advise??

#2 2004-04-16 11:20:30

dave riley
Website

Re: Mold (as in yucky pink and green spots)

you need sun to dry it. you could lightly apply a hair dryer too. but you will also find size and mould treatment glues in your hardware/wallpaper places. but my guess is that you began the item and completed it all in one go. it is usually better to do two or three layers...let it dry -- and do another couple -- depending on the strength and layers you want.
mache is remarkably slow drying in humid weather and will take up mould especially with "untreated" pastes.it is also a problem that with some construction designs you will encourage the mache to standardly dry from the OUTSIDE IN. this means that when the outer layer's dry it creates a seal against the moisture still trapped beneath. thus you can get moulds and weak structures.