HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Fixing a hollow cone to a base?

#1 2012-04-19 16:14:32

pauldwellings

Fixing a hollow cone to a base?

Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie here and a complete newbie with papermache - must admit i'm having so much fun trying things out. So glad i found this site - the tutorials are great.

I could do with some advice on a particular project i'm working on... I'm making a sort of 'sunburst/spikey' hat (the reason? i happen to be a novice Drag Queen & trying to make my own outfits).

I have the papermache helmet base all complete and now want to attach/stick some cones on it. I've seen the ready made cones that i can buy so until i'm more confident to make my own - i'll use these.

What i'm unsure of is how best to securely attach the cones to the base as they are hollow.

If some kind souls could give me some advice i'd be ever so thankful.

Paul x

Last edited by pauldwellings (2012-04-19 16:29:14)

#2 2012-04-19 17:42:53

dopapier

Re: Fixing a hollow cone to a base?

I would use good quality masking tape but you need to be sure first of all that it will stick to your cone.  If not, you might need to paint PVA on the cone to provide a new surface.  Once you've overcome that bit, placing the cone on the base and sticking bits of masking tape all round should make it secure.  If all that fails, you could use a sewing method.
Place layers of pasted kraft paper over all of it to unify and bond.  You could then paint or decorate in any way you want.

I'm a PM addict

#3 2012-04-19 17:44:52

CatPerson

My first choice would be a hot-glue gun, if you have access to one.  It would provide the most secure attachment for the limited amount of base space that you have for the cones.