HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

• Index
  •  » General
  •  » Can I interchange 'potato starch' in a recipe for wallpaper paste?

Can I interchange 'potato starch' in a recipe for wallpaper paste?

#1 2012-04-09 16:59:33

PaperLearner

Can I interchange 'potato starch' in a recipe for wallpaper paste?

Hi, I'm new to this but have a lot of experience in ceramics, as does my internet friend.  She sent me this papier mache recipe, after trying it out and says it's good (we are both interested in moving into papier mache for various reasons).  However, it requires potato starch which seems expensive.. can I just swap it for powdered wallpaper paste without changing the properties?

The recipe she gives is as follows, and she calls it a 'Mongolian Papier Mache' recipe:

newspaper
whiting (this is the potter's source of calcium carbonate and very cheap indeed)
potato starch
a big old saucepan

All ingredients are in equal parts (although she seems to contradict this by adding more whiting later on in the process).

Tear the newspaper into strips, add boiling water to get a fine porridge consistency. Add potato starch and whiting, boil for a couple of hours and leave overnight.  Come back to it in the morning and shape the paste into sticky balls.  Knead more whiting into the balls to get a soft dough consistency.  Voila!

All ingredients are used in equal parts, but from what she's written to me, she's pretty relaxed about proportions.  I'm not sure how she weighed/measured, I'm assuming by volume.

So yes, this is a long post just to ask whether I can swap potato starch for powdered wallpaper paste, but if you have any general advice on this recipe that would also be appreciated!  Thanks in advance!

#2 2012-04-09 17:33:50

dopapier

Re: Can I interchange 'potato starch' in a recipe for wallpaper paste?