HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

• Index
  •  » General
  •  » I need help please. large scale paper-mache sculpture.

I need help please. large scale paper-mache sculpture.

#1 2004-01-25 16:34:48

I need help please. large scale paper-mache sculpture.

I need to build a 6 foot sculpture of the shpinx. I've been told to use chicken net and paper mache, but i would really appriciate it if anybody explains to me how this is get done. I'm pretty new at this, so any tips and advices will be most welcome.

#2 2004-01-25 16:37:20

Re: I need help please. large scale paper-mache sculpture.

if any of you would be most kind and email me, it's at
yhimmel@hotmail.com

and i know i must be asking for too much, but i really need help with this.

Thank you, and have a great day!

#3 2004-02-14 06:07:07

morninghawk

I started my dragon with baloons for starts. Sounds dumb but hear me out.  If you do that, you get the general shape and line features you going to want. Buy maybe like 8" round and the balloons they use for balloon animals. Use masking tape or some other Sturdy tape to hold it together. Scotch tape will only fall off when it gets wet. When yu get your general shape, start with the paper. With mine to cut costs, I recycled the  newspaper at work and bought wall paper power mix it was less than 4$. one container will make PLENTY of glue mix (4+gallons) I would get a solid layer first. If it's too this the wire will bust right thru while you're tying it on. you really only need to reiforce large open areas. (like the chest cavity) or areas that would support alot of weight. Consider this an engineering prodject. You want this wire where it will be needed the most. use the loose ends or additional wire to keep it together. more mache to cover, and create details. (noses, eyes, paws, whatever)
hope this helps.
alicia

#4 2004-04-28 14:38:01

dave riley
Website