HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

I need Help.

#1 2003-08-29 18:55:34

alan3303

I need Help.

I am a college student majoring in ME and I have a project in which I have to build a machine to launch an object.  The catch is I can only use

one Sunday newspaper
36 ft. of string
2 rubber bands(supplied)
1 sq. yard of fabric
adhesive.

I am probably going to use some sort of fiberglass for my fabric but I need to figure out how to build componets from a Newspaper/adhesive mixture and make them as STRONG as possible.  I have alot of ways to accomplisth the project but making it with the STRONGEST material possible is KEY.  If anyone has any insighy on what adhesive is stronger when mixed with newspaper( flour, wallpaper paste, elmers, fiberglass epoxy, ect.) I would love to here it.  Also is a pulp papier mache STRONGER than a layer papier mache.  Any thing anyone has to share on how to get the most strength out of the paper adhesive mixture I would love to here.  Remeber I am pretty flexible on the adhesive requirement and I don't care about the final texture I just need STRENGTH.  I am going to keep looking online but I would GREATLY appreciate any help or advice.
Thanks

curtis

#2 2003-09-01 17:40:11

acetileno

Re: I need Help.

You won't know for sure until you experiment with the stuff.  For my projects I mixed wallpaper glue and pulp and it gets pretty hard if you allow the time to dry.

To dry it faster I put them in the oven at a very low temperature and it didn't even smoke and dried up strong.  Try it and you will see.

The Word ART is music to my ears!!

#3 2003-09-03 14:23:19

Karen
Website