HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Sermel Papel Mache

#1 2009-02-22 01:05:46

irishcornboy

Sermel Papel Mache

Hello folks, a newbie here. I found your lovely site, thanks to a google search. Was wondering if anyone can help me with detailed information or a site, person, etc. who can educate me more on the Sermel, Papel mache factory, it’s work, history, information, etc. I’ve recently been acquiring numerous Sermel vintage papier mache pieces, painted tin and paintings.. Some lovely detailed work, that’s for sure. I am aware that it was founded in part by renowned artist Sergio Bustamante, hence the name “Ser..." . But little else is known on my end. Any information would be greatly appreciated. And if you want me to send photo’s, I would love to.

Last edited by irishcornboy (2009-02-22 13:43:01)

#2 2009-03-03 16:22:21

dopapier

Re: Sermel Papel Mache

Sermel, a family-owned business, was established in 1965 and has since become one of the premier Mexican manufacturers of paper-mache collectibles.
Hello Irishcornboy

Thanks for bringing this one to the Forum.  I had not heard of Sermel before but have greatly enjoyed the search.
Sergio Bustamante has his own site, though it does not include papiermache.  He advises us to Expect the Unexpected.  His pieces are certainly extraordinary, working in bronze, ceramic and paper.  You can see an example of the work on this site -
http://d-listeddecor.blogspot.com/2008/ … igned.html

To go to his own website -
http://www.sergiobustamante.com.mx/intro_eng_full.html
Unfortunately the English version of his statement is not good English but you probably get the sense of it.  I'll try to get a good translation or, if you read Spanish, you will find the original on the same site.