HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

hello and advice on ready made pulp

#1 2008-11-14 20:03:08

hazelnut

hello and advice on ready made pulp

hello! i am just beginning to learn about papier mache art and would like any and all advice on the best ready made pulp to purchase. for now i think i'll just try a ready made pulp and then if i think this is a new addiction, i will try my hand at all of your great recipes!

i've heard of sculptamold, but the end result seems super duper rough. i would like something smooth. any suggestions?

also, i've read about an artist who sculpts their objects first in clay, and then casts a plaster mold. after that, she smooshes the paper pulp into the mold.

any advice on how to get started with this technique?

#2 2008-11-15 02:06:18

CatPerson

Re: hello and advice on ready made pulp

I've tried several of the 'instant' papier mache products, and I was not impressed.  As far as I know, most of these products are just ground paper and plaster.

Paper fibers tend to cling to each other, which is what makes it kind of lumpy. Any type of plaster material can make it rough, and it probably gets rougher the longer you work it, as the plaster is trying to set up.

You might just bite the bullet and buy a package of each of the instant types that you can find locally, and try them out.

'Real' papier mache is just paper, water and adhesive. I know there are a lot of recipes that include chalk, sawdust, and lots of other materials, but be aware that when you're adding something extra, there should be a reason for it.  Try to avoid the temptation to add things just to add them. It's probably best to just start out simply and find out what works for you and what doesn't.

David likes pulp.  I prefer strips.  It doesn't matter what anyone else does, stick with what seems right to you.  Practice will teach you more than anything else.