HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Inspiring + intro

#1 2008-03-20 19:58:27

handitak

Inspiring + intro

Wow, you guys are inpsiring, and I love looking at all your work, its just awesome. I wanted to thank you for the tips posted, and the help that seems readily available.

I want to make LOTS of PM things!!

Intro: I am mainly a painter, and hold my BFA. One of the most enjoyable classes i took at University was Sculpture, but, I dont have the space to be doing big plaster projects etc anymore. I think PM will be the way to go.

I just finished Aslans head for the play I am helping to direct, and I found a love for PM and its versatility. I am looking forward to using PM pulp and seeing what I can create with it, Aslans head was created using layers of wallpaper pasted paper-strips over an amature.

I was born in the UK, and have been living in the USA with my American husband and 4 children (15, 12, 3 and 1) since 1998. We recently moved from the East Coast to the West.

I think I am going to try making some dolls, combining fabric bodies with PM faces. I also have some other ideas for mixed media work.

For now, I am content to try the easy PM paste of just pulp and glue, I have never heard of adding things, and feel a little out of my league -- baby steps!!

I really look forward to getting to know you all and becoming part of this community!!

#2 2008-03-21 02:03:42

burrumgirl

Re: Inspiring + intro

Hi Handitak, Welcome to the forum.  I have not been here long myself, but enjoy all the advice and input from the people here.  They are all very generous with their information, so you won't have any trouble getting help. I am sure you will find PM a lot more forgiving than plaster, but not necessarily less messy. Anyway again I say, WELCOME.

Jill of all Crafts
Master of None.

#3 2008-03-21 18:15:07

newmodeller
Website

Hi and welcome.