HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Hello, I need inspiration!!

#1 2007-10-04 10:22:07

Alps

Hello, I need inspiration!!

Hi, I've just discovered your site - it's full of fantastic information!!

I've just volunteered to make a 3d map of lapland for my children's primary school, and was thinking that chicken wire and papier mache could be the way forward.

I was wondering if anybody has done a 3d map before, and if so do they have any pictures or useful advice for me? I've not used papier mache since leaving school myself, so I am a complete novice, but can't wait to get started!

Anita.

#2 2007-10-04 15:44:06

Psycho_Acolyte
Website

Re: Hello, I need inspiration!!

Well, what do you mean by a 3d map?  Is it going to be in the shape of a globe or is it going to be a flat surface with raised pieces to show places?

"You are weak like the salted slug and your mind is slow like a sloth on sake."
"HUH?!"

#3 2007-10-05 20:14:13

Alps

It's going to be flat with raised bits for mountain regions and low bits for lakes - I've got an old 150cm x 75cm picture frame with 10cm deep sides and the hardboard still in the back that I was going to use for the base. I'm guessing chicken wire would be good to make the basic shape.

#4 2007-10-11 19:37:09

dopapier

perhaps chicken wire would be a bit clumsy for a relatively small area.  You might try scrunched up pieces of paper to create the elevations, or layers of corrugated card, each one smaller than the one below.  Once you lay your paper laminate over it, it will be quite strong and look realistic.
DavidO

I'm a PM addict

#5 2007-10-12 00:15:18

sebrink
Website

What's lapland?

smile

#6 2007-10-12 07:49:12

CatPerson

I believe Lapland is the northern part of Norway and Sweden, esp the part that is above the Arctic Circle.