HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

pm furniture suggestions

#1 2007-07-18 18:18:25

bookbinder45

pm furniture suggestions

As a beginner (who buys a lot of books and therefore has a LOT of mailing boxes in my garage) I was looking for pointers on making furniture in PM.  Are there any sources of info out there? Any preferred papers or glues for this type project? I was thinking of starting with a shrine-type structure which shouldn't be too hard to do. But then I was thinking of a table with drawers as I have several sized boxes that would fit beneath a larger one that would act as the top.

I suppose I should have started by asking the obvious question: is this do-able?

Any suggestions?

Donna
PS I have some PM experience (though limited) from years ago when I made a tree trunk with my kids using paper bags (torn, soaked in water, squeezed to remove excess - which also gave it a bark-like look), Elmer's glue watered down, and a cardboard skeleton. And the usual grammar school art project experience and pinata making

Last edited by bookbinder45 (2007-07-18 18:47:20)

#2 2007-07-18 18:45:13

dopapier

Re: pm furniture suggestions

Yes, it certainly is possible.  Have a look in the tutorials at 'Pedestal Throne' by Jilly Tinniswood.  Then google 'Les Cartonnistes' and you should get the site of a group of French artists who make furniture out of card.
Good luck
DavidO

I'm a PM addict

#3 2007-07-18 19:00:18

bookbinder45

David-

I have lifted my jaw from the table long enough to say, "THANK YOU!" followed quickly by "WOW!". I certainly came to the right place for answers and inspiration.

Just thought of a fun addition to the desk idea. I have been doing ply-splitting with papercord. A basket soaked in glue for a pencil holder or added on the side for a waste basket. Either could be incorporated into the desk during construction.