HomeForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

what now?

#1 2002-10-12 22:51:05

what now?

Thank you in advance for any help you can give.I just started playing with paper mache & I made the cutest little witchy lady.I absolutely love her but I don't know what to do now,she has a flowing cloak & flowing hair & I am afraid that when I try to gesso & paint & seal I will lose definition,if anyone understands what I mean.Any help is appreciated as I am now hooked & want to make more if this works.

#2 2002-10-13 17:48:11

Jackie
Website

Re: what now?

Hi Rachael,

You could use watered down white (pva) glue to seal your work. It is much thinner than emulsion or gesso.

Jackie

#3 2002-10-13 22:07:48

I will try that because i really want her to stay looking like she does right now.Except for paint,of course.Will I have to use any specific kind of paint over the glue or will anything work?Thanks again.
                                                                        Rachael

#4 2002-10-14 11:56:43

Jackie
Website

It's not quite so easy to paint onto a pva protected surface as the natural paper colour will show through so that lets out poster paints. I think you would be OK with acrylic paints - just don't use them too thickly!  big_smile

Jackie

#5 2002-10-14 20:32:13

I am going to try what you suggest.I can't wait to see how it comes out.By the way, what could i seal it with after painting?Thank you again.
Rachael

#6 2002-10-14 22:26:56

Jackie
Website